[futurebasic] Re: [FB] Whois futurebasic.org

Message: < previous - next > : Reply : Subscribe : Cleanse
Home   : September 2005 : Group Archive : Group : All Groups

From: tedd <tedd@...>
Date: Wed, 14 Sep 2005 07:30:00 -0400
Pierre:

Two things, first it appears that Peter posted your email. Second, 
I'm aware of what can be done and what is cyber squatting for I deal 
in selling domains.

However, it's my understanding that registering a complaint with 
ICANN (The authority on this matter) will run several hundred 
dollars. From there it's a simple matter to change the domain over to 
staz -- after all, futurebasic is a registered trademark.

I have a similar situation where my wife has a business named Earth 
Stones (she sells jewelry). She started her business in 1987 and 
registered her domain, namely earthstones.com, in 1995. Another 
company, who also is in the jewelry business started their business 
(Earthstone Creations, Inc) much later and also registered 
earthstone.com in 2001.

They later started and received a trademark on "earthstone.com". But 
before they did, I notified them of our preexisting claim on 
earthstones.com and if they were trying to reverse grab our domain, 
then a legal fight would pursue wherein I expect, via precedent, we 
would win. They responded that we have no problem in that regard and 
we haven't had any problems, yet.

tedd



Yes, I'm aware of what can happen

>Tedd,
>
>My posts to the fb list get bounced and I haven't had time to resolve it, so
>please pass this to the futurebasic list.
>
>Cyber squatting is not defensible in court. If the owner of and existing
>trademarked name or an established and recognized entity name (e.g.
>futurebasic) wants to get back ownership and control of that domain name
>they can easily do so, without paying a penny for the domain.
>
>Example: My wife works for a medical marketing branch of a hospital in
>Texas. Their corporate name was being cyber squatted. She kindly asked to
>buy the domain name (the easiest solution). The squatter responded by upping
>the ante. This was out of my wife's discretionary budget, so she had to
>request funds from upper management. Upper management turned it over to
>legal, who swooped in with typical legal aggression. The squatter quickly
>turned over the domain after receiving the initial letter that explained the
>law regarding ownership of trademarks etc.
>
>--
>Dr. Pierre A. Zippi
>Biostratigraphy.com, L.L.C.
>7518 Twin Oaks Court
>Garland, TX 75044 USA
>
>972-496-3642 Work
>972-754-1437 Cell
>
>paz@...
>http://www.biostratigraphy.com
>
>paz@...
>http://www.paleolab.com
>
>paz@...
>http://www.pazsoftware.com
>
>
>
>>  From: tedd <tedd@...>
>>  Reply-To: <futurebasic@...>
>>  Date: Tue, 13 Sep 2005 11:14:15 -0400
>>  To: <paz@...>
>>  Subject: Re: [FB] Whois futurebasic.org
>>
>>>  A question was recently asked about who has the futurebasic.org 
>>>registration.
>>>
>>>  I have examined the Whois database and come up with the following.
>>
>>  Peter:
>>
>>  Yes, that's what I came up with as well. Whomever has registered
>>  futurebasic.org has elected to keep in confidential. It's too bad
>>  that it has been used to advertised RealBASIC. I wonder who would do
>>  that?
>>
>>  tedd
>>  --
>> 
>>------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>  --
>>  http://sperling.com/
>>
>>  --
>>


-- 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://sperling.com/